FAST Area Director's Bios

Area One Director: Tammy Pinnella 

Counties: Escambia, Holmes, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Walton

Area Two Director: Carlos Villa

Counties: Bay, Calhoun, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Jackson, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Madison, Taylor, Wakulla, Washington

Area Three Director: Mayra L. Cordero

Area Three Counties: Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Columbia, Dixie, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Lafayette, Levy,

Marion, Putnam, Suwannee, Union

Area Four Director: Janet Schauss

Area Four Counties: Clay, Duval, Nassau, St. Johns

She recently was a 5th grade science teacher in Columbia County, Florida. She also worked part time for My District Virtual School where I taught High School Earth Space science and Physical science. She also spent many years teaching middle school science. Last year was her 16th year teaching. She has a MAE in science education from University of Florida; She is a PLT (Project Learning Tree) trainer, co-director for the Suwannee Valley Regional Science and Engineering Fair, and Columbia County Curriculum Integration Team director for science. She has been fortunate to write and receive many grants through the years, thanks to working with an outstanding science mentor. Last year, she won the Siemens/Discovery Education Possibility Grant sweepstakes worth $10,000. 

Area Five Director: Melissa Parks 

Area Five Counties: Flagler, Lake, Orange, Seminole, Volusia

She is currently an assistant professor of education at Stetson University. Prior to joining Stetson faculty, she was a National Board Certified elementary school teacher practicing in both Florida and Massachusetts. She is passionate about teaching and believes in the power of a positive classroom built around the foundation of learning activities intentionally designed to foster and engage students in exploring, and expanding, their natural curiosities. In addition to her teaching, Dr. Parks serves on the Outstanding Science Trade Books Panel of the National Science Teachers Association.

Area Six Director: Amber Robinson

Area Six Counties: Citrus, Hernando, Hillsborough, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Sumter 

She practiced community medicine in Venezuela before coming to the US. In the states, she has taught sciences from elementary to college. With 14+ years of experience in education, she has facilitated trainings and coached teachers on research-based strategies that maximize student learning. She believes in today’s education we must use real world situations to engage students’ interest to further their understanding of science concepts. Incorporating real world problems, along with evidence-based science, will increase students’ readiness for future careers. Currently, she has incorporated case studies, such as Ebola and Zika, water conservation and cancer challenging students to analyze the current situation and brainstorm possible solutions. 

Area Seven Director: Dr. Janice Novello

Area Seven Counties: De Soto, Hardee, Highlands, Manatee, Sarasota

A Professor in School of Advanced Studies at the University of Phoenix, her students are designing studies that gather and synthesize data for their dissertations. A previous member of NASA’s Teacher in Space Program, she recently won a fellowship to the International Space Academy, and participated with representatives from 23 other countries. She is a NOAA Planet Steward and was invited as a Key Educator to the White House to meet with other experts from many countries concerned with Climate Change. She was the Co-Chair the STREAM Program for the Diocese of Venice and is on the Executive Committee for Keep Manatee Beautiful Board of Directors. She is on the Board for St. Mary’s Academy, and is proud that it is the first Florida School for special needs children to receive STEM Accreditation.  As a member of the Franciscan Action Network Round Table, she facilitates workshops on the impact on peace and justice through stewardship of environment.

She is a proud lifetime member of FAST (2004) and received the FAST Science Educator Award of 2016. She was named the State University of New York Empire State Alum of the year and received the National Catholic Educational Association's Elizabeth Ann Seaton Award Nomination.  

Area Eight Director: Angel Alexander

Area Eight Counties: Brevard, Indian River, Martin, Okeechobee, Osceola, St. Lucie

Area Nine Director: Katie Schlotterberck

Area Nine Counties: Charlotte, Collier, Glades, Hendry, Lee

Katie is a lifelong educator and learner. She has been teaching high school science for the past four years at Bishop Verot Catholic High School in Fort Myers, Fl. Prior to that, she taught middle school science for thirty-one years at St. Michael Lutheran School in Fort Myers, Fl. She has been involved in the Thomas Alva Edison Kiwanis Regional Science and Engineering Fair for the past 30 years. She earned her bachelor degree from Concordia Teachers College in River Forest, Illinois, majoring in education, environmental sciences and physical education and has received numerous awards for excellence in teaching.

Area Ten Director: Stephanie Killingsworth

Area Ten Counties: Broward, Palm Beach

Area Eleven Director: Navia Gomez

Area Eleven Counties: Dade, Monroe

She is a veteran teacher at Dante B. Fascell Elementary School in Miami. She is also on the Board of the Dade County Science Teachers' Association. She was the Miami Dade County Elementary Science Teacher of the Year in 2009. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software